Author Interview: Christina Feindel

Author Interview of Christina Feindel

Now I have some questions for Christina Feindel, a science fiction author who is giving us a perspective on her debut novel. Exciting stuff and inspirational.

Do you write full-time or part-time?

Christina: I’m self-employed full-time and then some, which involves some writing, but not really the kind we’re talking about. That takes up a lot of my time and energy. I try to find time for fiction every day, even if it’s only a few minutes, but the reality is it often takes a backseat to everything else. I’d like to be able to strike a 50-50 balance between my job and my writing someday.

What drew you to write in this genre?

Christina: My fiction is always very character-driven. I really think I could have told the same story (or at least, a very similar one) in just about any genre. And I was never very interested in sci-fi as a kid. But I find that as I get older, it’s a good opportunity to explore the concerns we all have about the future of our planet and our legacy as a species.

Q: How much research do you do?

Christina: That’s the nice thing about fantasy and science fiction. It’s often better the further removed from reality it is, the more it engages and challenges the reader’s imagination. But there are things you can BS and things you can’t, and the hope is that the readers can’t tell the difference. I think Scott Lynch said something like that about one of his books. I can take liberties with technologies we don’t have yet, but there are plenty of things we do have–a significant portion of my book takes place in a jungle, for example, so I wanted that to feel as authentic as I could manage.

What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Christina: I try not to make plans or get my hopes up or have unrealistic expectations. I just want to enjoy the ride. I’ve always written as a hobby and I’m perfectly content to keep doing that. I already have a job I love that challenges and satisfies me in completely different ways than writing does. But I hope that when the book does come out, it entertains whoever happens to pick it up. Even if it’s only one person.

Do you think that the book cover plays an important part in the buying process?

Christina: Absolutely. We all know we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but we do anyway. Some books with amateurish covers might catch on, but I think those are few and far between. I freelance in graphic design, so the cover for The Revenant is something I put a lot of time and thought into.

Introducing Christina’s Debut Novel: The Revenant

the-revenant-halcyon-reach-book-oneWith its advanced weaponry, the ghost ship Revenant was supposed to turn the tide of the war… but went missing instead. Ten years later, the Federation’s hold on the three suns is firmly cemented and corrupt in every way, and any Separatist hopes or dreams seem to have gone the way of Old Earth and its dinosaurs.

Grayson Delamere was still a child when the war ended and she doesn’t much care why it was fought in the first place. In the cold, dark vac of space, most lives are short and brutal with or without the Federation’s interference. She’s worked hard and kept her head down, making her living as a mechanic on any ship that’d have her. If she’s broken a few laws and made a few enemies along the way, well, that’s just the way life is on the fringe of the Trisolar System.

But now, someone has discovered all of her dirty little secrets… and will hold them hostage to ensure Grayson’s help in the most dangerous job of her life: To recover the Revenant and rekindle the fires of rebellion.

About Christina

Christina Feindel resides in central Texas with her multi-talented husband, Noah. While traversing academia, civil service, and chronic illness in early adulthood, she founded the whole-foods blog ACleanPlate.com and now works as a cook, photographer, and educator. She pens fiction in her spare time, with a particular passion for character development and genre-blending. More info about her and her debut novel The Revenant can be found at CLFeindel.com.

Leave a Reply

