Author Interview: Louise Ross

This month’s aspiring author interview is with Louise Ross. I’d like to thank Louise for giving her time to participate in the interview and look forward to seeing the results of her efforts.

What advice would you give to your younger self?

Louise: Ha. There are so many things my younger self should know. Don’t let your mom give you a boy’s haircut, stop leaning your head to the left in pictures, embrace your awkwardness, and above all else go for it. Whatever you are doing, don’t hold any punches and go at it hard. I rarely held back as a child, but the times I did were the times I probably should have pushed harder.

What do you think of “trailers” for books, and will you create one for your own work?

Louise: I have visited a few author pages that have book trailers. I’ve even watched a few (usually the sexy romance ones). I keep my computer on silent, so I don’t watch a lot of videos. Unless trailers become industry standard, I don’t think I’ll make one.

What is your favourite movie and why?

Louise: Ack! Do I have to pick just one? Ok, fine. My favorite movie is The Scarlet Pimpernel from 1982. It’s my favorite because I have it memorized and can do laundry to it. It’s got romance and humor, the lead is sarcastic and clever, and his disguises are almost like magic. I never get bored of it.

What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around?

Louise: So here’s my disclaimer: I am not published yet.

Self-publishing frightens me because it puts the responsibility for success on the writer. Anyone can upload a novel and hit publish, but that alone will not create readers. Uploading a novel does not mean it is polished, well-written, properly edited or correctly formatted. Even if the novel itself is ready for publication, marketing is necessary. There is accounting to track, taxes to worry about, and long-term strategies to think about. While I actually have a business degree, I already have a more-than-full-time job, and I don’t think I could effectively manage the business side of self-publishing.

That being said, I have queried out one of my works a handful of times. Every denial stabs a little. Especially when the rejections say things like “while your story is good, it is simply not for me. This industry is highly subjective.” Which I translate to, maybe somebody else will want to buy/read your novel, but it’s not my thing. The gatekeepers work both for and against the industry. They may validate an author but they also control what gets published.

When you develop characters do you already know who they are before you begin writing or do you let them develop as you go?

Louise: I love characters. I usually spend a lot of time developing them. I tend to keep a spreadsheet of my characters so I can track what is happening from their perspectives. I think the more differences in perspective that come up as I plot and plan the novel, the more exciting the novel becomes.

***

Louise Ross dreams then writes it all down. When governments are destroyed, wars destroy the land, and tech takes over, her stories explore the struggles of the common man to overcome.

Louise Ross on her websiteGoogle+, and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

